Diwali is known as tihar in which saarc nation? – 2017


diwali is known as tihar in which saarc nation?

tihar in Nepali

Diwali, known as Tihar in Nepal, is celebrated to honor Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth and Ganesha, the lord of new beginnings. The festivities in Nepal last for five days and each day has its very own significance.

In Nepal, family gathering is more significant during Tihar. People in the community play “Deusi and Bhailo” which is a kind of singing and dancing forming a group.

Diwali is known as ‘Tihar’ and carries on for a period of 5 days. Each day is dedicated to a God who may take the form of an animal or an element of nature.

The holiday is known as dīpavaḷi in Kannada: ದೀಪಾವಳಿ, Malayalam: ദീപാവലി, and Telugu: దీపావళి, dipawoli in Assamese: দীপাৱলী, dipaboli or dipali in Bengali: দীপাবলি/দীপালি, dipābali in Odia: ଦିପାବଲି, divālī in Hindi: दिवाली, dīvālī in Punjabi: ਦੀਵਾਲੀ, divāḷi in Gujarati: દિવાળી, Marathi: दिवाळी, and Konkani: दिवाळी, diyārī in Sindhi: दियारी‎, tīpāvaḷi in Tamil: தீபாவளி, Galungan in Balinese and Swanti in Nepali: स्वन्ति or tihar in Nepali: तिहार.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply