How many states does Route 66 run through? – 2017


How many states does Route 66 run through?

8 [eight]

Coined “The Main Street of America,” Route 66 runs from Chicago to Los Angeles, passing through eight states in total. The route is estimated to cover 2,400 miles – an approximation, due to various changes in roads and alignments over the years. Romanticized in songs, stories and most famously in “The Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck, Route 66 is often seen as a symbol of travel and opportunity, as well as the evolution of America itself. Source: National Historic Route 66 Federation

U.S. Route 66 (US 66 or Route 66), also known as the Will Rogers Highway, the Main Street of America or the Mother Road, was one of the original highways within the U.S. Highway System.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply