What is the only state whose capital city begins with the letter “F”? – 2017

What is the only state whose capital city begins with the letter “F”?


Answer: Frankfort is the capital city of Kentucky. With a population of 25,527 at the 2010 census, it is the fifth-smallest state capital in the United States. The town of Frankfort likely received its name from an event that took place in the 1780s. American Indians attacked a group of early European-American pioneers from Bryan Station, who were making salt at a ford in the Kentucky River. Pioneer Stephen Frank was killed, and the settlers thereafter called the crossing “Frank’s Ford.” This name was later elided to Frankfort.

Kentucky is a southeastern state bounded by the Ohio River in the north and the Appalachian Mountains in the east, with Frankfort the state capital. The state’s largest city, Louisville, is home to the Kentucky Derby, the renowned horse race held at Churchill Downs on the first Saturday in May. The race is preceded by a 2-week festival and celebrated in the Kentucky Derby Museum year-round.
Capital: Frankfort

Extra Trivia


Related posts:

Leave a Reply