Which nations celebrated the New Year first? – 2017

Which nations celebrated the New Year first?
– Japan & South Korea
– New Zealand & Australia
– Philippines & Singapore
– Kiribati & Samoa

Answer: Samoa and Christmas Island in Kiribati were the first to welcome 2018, followed by New Zealand. Samoa used to be one of the last places in the world to celebrate the New Year, being the last spot on earth to see the sunset. But it became the first place to see the sunrise on Dec. 31, 2011, by wiping a full day, Dec. 30, 2011, off its calendar. When Samoa and Kiribati rang in the New Year, the local time in New York was 5am Dec 31, 2017, local time in London was 10am and local time in Sydney was 9pm Dec 31, 2017.

New Zealand & Australia

Australia–New Zealand relations, also referred to as Trans-Tasman relations (“relations across the Tasman Sea”), are extremely close with both sharing British colonial heritage as Antipodean White Dominions and settler colonies as well as being part of the wider Anglosphere.[

Related posts:

Leave a Reply